The Cape Cadogan is a stately double-storeyed Georgian and Victorian building that dates back to the beginning of the 19th century. It was originally a single story Georgian farmhouse which was ‘Victorianised’ in the later part of the century. A second floor was added by the owner, Mr Heinrich Becker, in 1912 using Ernst Seelinger, an architect responsible for the beautiful old South Africa News Building, later remodeled (early 1920’s) by Seelinger, into the building which still to this day houses Die Burger (Afrikaans daily newspaper) in Keerom Street, Cape Town.
The granite garden wall still contains the original iron work which derives from the old quarry at the top of Kloof Street and was a wedding gift to Mr Becker. Suite 3 used to be the old wagon shed and stable which entrance opened into King Street. The building was awarded national monument status in late 1984.
In 2006 the More Family, a 4th generation South African Family owning and operating a luxury private game reserve, Lion Sands, in the Sabi Sand Reserve, Kruger National Park became partners in the Cape Cadogan Boutique Hotel. They share a similar passion to their partners, Brian & Aine, in wanting to provide a world class but very sincere and highly personalized guest experience.